HB-Therm at Fakuma, Hall A4 – 4205

HB-Therm at Fakuma, Hall A4 – 4205

Thermo-5 temperature control unit line from HB-Therm to be extended

Hot: High-temperature water units up to 230 °C

The reliable and internationally well known Thermo-5 temperature control unit portfolio of HB-Therm is upgraded with two other types. HB-Therm thus complies with many customer requests for high-temperature units with water as temperature control medium. There is a clear market trend of going to higher temperatures. Many applications are being developed requiring the use of these types of high-temperature water units.

Although the high temperature for water up to 200 °C or 230 °C is new, the proven technology remains the same: i.e. including controlled superimposed system pressure, proportionally controlled cooler bypass and ultrasonic flow meter.

With the addition of the HB-200Z2B and the HB-230Z2B to the temperature control unit portfolio plastic manufacturer get the opportunity as of October 2017 to benefit from this technology into the highest temperature range. Do note that raised requirements are placed on the stability of moulds and fixtures due to the high temperatures for water and the resulting pressures. The required pressure resistance for 200 °C is 31bar and for 230 °C is 47 bar.

Controlled: Temperature control devices with speed-controlled pump

The issue is not new: What is the correct pump for my temperature control unit? The question has never been easy to answer because for universal use units in injection moulding the requirements are so diverse that the exactly right pump has never existed. If pumps are operated at a constant speed, an efficient solution for applications with large and small temperature control channel cross-sections is not possible purely for physical reasons. The answer is therefore: To adjust the characteristic curve by controlling the pump speed in relation to the application in such a way that the desired flow is attained with minimum energy costs.

The flow ratios in the temperature control channel and also the quality of heat transfer from the temperature control medium to the injection moulding tool are determined by the flow dependent on the channel cross-section. If the flow rate is too low, little drive power is required but heat transfer and temperature distribution in the tool are too poor. If the flow is increased beyond the optimum value, heat transfer only improves minimally but the necessary drive power increases disproportionately. The question is now: What is the correct pump speed then?

With its temperature control units in this portfolio, HB-Therm now creates efficient remedies because the Thermo-5 temperature control units are now also available with controlled pump. The units offer the operators effective assistance in selecting a suitable pump speed. In Eco-mode the unit itself determines the flow necessary for the application and therefore makes energy saving possible without putting process safety at risk. As soon as energy is saved, this is shown in the unit display with a green leaf.
The new Thermo-5 units can also be integrated into process systems by means of suitable interfaces meaning that their speed can be changed due to the superimposed flow control. This control type is especially suited to uses with temperature control circuits switched in parallel and flow-controlled temperature control circuits.

Highly accurate: Calibrated temperature management for compliance with precise temperature control

How do I know whether the temperatures and flows displayed on the temperature control units are accurate? And how can I fulfill the quality requirements for periodically verifying and documenting the accuracies?

Inaccuracies always occur in the ascertainment of measuring values because high-precision sensors and probes have their tolerances. For temperature probes these are ±3 °C and for pressure sensors ±0.4 bar. In extreme cases, this can lead to the process temperature changing by up to 6 °C and this remaining undiscovered as a result of the replacement of a temperature control device. Only an elimination of these deviations guarantees reliable and reproducible temperature control. All units are therefore supplied calibrated ex works.

HB-Therm offers the customer the opportunity to verify the units independently and periodically with the aid of a testing device. The unit takes the operator through the entire test process and then offers him the possibility of automatically recalibrating temperature, pressure and flow. Test reports can be saved and distributed for documented maintenance.

Networked: OPC UA combines HB-Therm units with industry 4.0

Large parts of the manufacture will completely change with the specifications from industry 4.0. Are temperature control units also affected by this?
The answer is yes because in future machines, systems or sensors will communicate with one another globally and exchange information on products and production comprehensively. Via the new optional OPC UA interface the HB-Therm temperature control devices can be controlled remotely and enable the read-off of various information by other installations and machinery.

HB-Therm an der Messe Fakuma 2017

HB-Therm an der Messe Fakuma 2017

Die Temperiergerätefamilie Thermo-5 wird erweitert

Heiss: Mit Wasser bis 230 °C temperieren

Das auf dem Markt weltweit bekannte und bewährte Thermo-5-Temperiergeräteprogramm von HB-Therm wird mit zwei weiteren Typen aufgewertet. Damit entspricht HB-Therm dem vielfachen Kundenwunsch nach Hochtemperaturgeräten mit dem Temperiermedium Wasser. Der allgemeine Markttrend geht eindeutig zu höheren Temperaturen. Es entstehen aktuell viele neue Anwendungen, die den Einsatz solcher Hochtemperatur-Wassergeräte erforderlich machen.

Neu ist die hohe Temperatur für Wasser bis 200 °C resp. bis 230 °C, was bleibt ist die vielfach bewährte Technologie: Geregelte Systemdrucküberlagerung, proportionalgeregelter Kühler-Bypass, Durchflussmessung mit Ultraschall etc.

Mit der Ergänzung des Temperiergeräteprogramms durch das HB-200Z2B und das HB-230Z2B bekommen die Kunststoffverarbeiter ab Oktober 2017 die Möglichkeit, die Vorteile dieser Technologie bis in den höchsten Temperaturbereich zu nutzen. Wichtig dabei gilt zu beachten, dass durch die hohen Temperaturen für Wasser und den daraus resultierenden Drücken die Anforderungen an die Beständigkeit von Werkzeugen und Armaturen steigt. Die geforderte Druckbeständigkeit beträgt für Wasser bei 200 °C 31 bar und bei 230 °C bereits 47 bar.

Geregelt: Temperiergeräte mit drehzahlgeregelter Pumpe

Das Thema ist nicht neu: Welche ist die richtige Pumpe für mein Temperiergerät? Die Frage war bislang nicht so einfach zu beantworten, denn gerade bei Geräten für den universellen Einsatz in der Spritzgiessverarbeitung sind die Anforderungen so unterschiedlich, dass es die wirklich passende Pumpe nie gab. Werden Pumpen mit konstanter Drehzahl betrieben, ist eine effiziente Lösung für Anwendungen einmal mit grossen und einmal mit kleinen Temperierkanalquerschnitten schon aus rein physikalischen Gründen nicht möglich. Die Antwort lautet daher: Durch Regelung der Pumpendrehzahl die Kennlinie anwendungsbedingt so anpassen, dass der gewünschte Durchfluss mit minimalem Energieaufwand erreicht wird.

Die Strömungsverhältnisse im Temperierkanal und damit auch die Güte des Wärmeübergangs vom Temperiermedium zum Spritzgiesswerkzeug werden in Abhängigkeit des Kanalquerschnittes vom Durchfluss bestimmt. Ist der Durchfluss zu niedrig, dann wird zwar wenig Antriebsleistung benötigt, dafür sind der Wärmeübergang und die Temperaturverteilung im Werkzeug aber zu schlecht. Erhöht man den Durchfluss über den optimalen Wert hinaus, dann verbessert sich der Wärmeübergang nur noch minimal, dafür steigt die erforderliche Antriebsleistung überproportional an. Die Frage lautet nun: Welche ist also die richtige Pumpendrehzahl?

HB-Therm schafft mit seinen Temperiergeräten in diesem Bereich jetzt effiziente Abhilfe, denn die Temperiergeräte Thermo-5 gibt es neu auch mit geregelter Pumpe. Bei der Auswahl der passenden Pumpendrehzahl bieten die Geräte den Bedienern effektive Unterstützung. Im Eco-mode bestimmt das Gerät selbst den für die Anwendung erforderlichen Durchfluss und macht so Energieeinsparen möglich ohne die Prozesssicherheit zu gefährden. Sobald Energie eingespart wird, zeigt dies das Gerät im Display mit einem grünen Blatt an.
Die neuen Thermo-5 Geräte lassen sich zudem auch über geeignete Schnittstellen in Prozessanlagen integrieren, so dass sich deren Drehzahl durch die überlagerte Durchflussregelung verändern lässt. Diese Ansteuerungsart eignet sich vor allem für Anwendungen mit parallel geschalteten und durchflussgeregelten Temperierkreisen.

Hochgenau: Kalibrierte Temperaturführung zur Einhaltung präziser Temperierung

Woher und wie soll ich denn wissen, ob die am Temperiergerät angezeigten Temperaturen und Durchflüsse auch stimmen? Und wie kann ich den Qualitätsanforderungen gerecht werden, die Genauigkeiten periodisch zu überprüfen und zu dokumentieren?

Bei der Ermittlung von Messwerten ergeben sich immer Ungenauigkeiten, denn auch hochgenaue Fühler und Sensoren haben ihre Toleranzen. Bei Temperaturfühlern liegen diese bei ±3 °C und bei Drucksensoren bei ±0,4 bar. Im Extremfall kann dies dazu führen, dass sich durch den Austausch eines Temperiergeräts die Prozesstemperatur um bis zu 6 °C verändert und dies gegebenenfalls unentdeckt bleibt. Nur eine Eliminierung dieser Abweichungen gewährleistet eine zuverlässige und reproduzierbare Temperierung. Daher werden sämtliche Geräte ab Werk kalibriert ausgeliefert.

Mit Hilfe einer Prüfvorrichtung bietet HB-Therm dem Kunden die Möglichkeit, die Geräte selbstständig und periodisch zu überprüfen. Das Gerät führt den Bediener durch den gesamten Prüfablauf und bietet ihm anschliessend die Möglichkeit zur automatischen Neu-Kalibrierung von Temperatur, Druck und Durchfluss. Zur dokumentierten Instandhaltung können die Prüfprotokolle gespeichert und ausgegeben werden.

Vernetzt: OPC UA verbindet HB-Therm Geräte mit Industrie 4.0

Mit den Vorgaben aus Industrie 4.0 wird sich die Fertigung in weiten Teilen komplett verändern. Sind die Temperiergeräte auch davon betroffen?

Die Antwort lautet ja, denn künftig werden Maschinen, Anlagen oder Sensoren weltweit miteinander kommunizieren und Informationen zu Produkten und Produktion umfassend austauschen. Über die neue optionale Schnittstelle OPC UA lassen sich die HB-Therm Temperiergeräte fernsteuern und erlauben das Auslesen diverser Daten durch andere Einrichtungen und Maschinen.